Homepage of Independent Review Committee on Hong Kong's Franchised Bus Service

Representations / Submissions received

The Independent Review Committee (the Committee) has appointed counsel and solicitors as well as two overseas experts to assist it in its work. Details of the appointments of counsel and solicitors are set out in this notice of 12 April 2018, while details of the appointments of overseas experts are set out in the notices of 27 June 2018 and 13 July 2018.

The Committee has invited specifically identified interested parties as well as members of the public to provide submissions by the deadlines as set out in the individual invitation letters. The representations and submissions received have been/will be included in the hearing bundles at the Committee’s discretion. The interested parties include:

  • Transport and Housing Bureau;
  • Transport Department;
  • Panel on Transport of the Legislative Council;
  • Transport Advisory Committee;
  • Citybus Limited;
  • The Kowloon Motor Bus Company (1933) Limited;
  • Long Win Bus Company Limited;
  • The New Lantao Bus Company (1973) Limited;
  • The New World First Bus Services Limited (NWFB);
  • Motor Transport Workers General Union - KMB Branch;
  • Motor Transport Workers General Union - New World Bus Branch;
  • Motor Transport Workers General Union - Citybus Branch;
  • Motor Transport Workers General Union - Long Win Bus Branch;
  • Motor Transport Workers General Union - New Lantao Bus Branch;
  • Kowloon Motor Bus Workers General Union;
  • Kowloon Motor Bus Workers General Union - Long Win Bus Workers Branch;
  • The K.M.B. Staff Union;
  • New World First Bus Company Staff Union;
  • Citybus Limited Employees Union;
  • Long Win Bus Staff Union;
  • The Federation of Bus Industry Trade Unions;
  • KMB Employees Union;
  • Staff Rights Association of KMB;
  • The Union of Public Bus Workers Association;
  • Monthly-rated Drivers Union;
  • Part-time Drivers Union [Note: Name translated by Secretariat of the Committee];
  • Community for Road Safety;
  • Hong Kong Police Force;
  • Road Safety Council;
  • Hong Kong Institution of Engineers;
  • Hong Kong Institution of Highways & Transportation;
  • The Association of Consulting Engineers of Hong Kong;
  • The Chartered Institution of Highways and Transportation (CIHT) – Hong Kong Branch;
  • Hong Kong Society for Transportation Studies;
  • Institution of Civil Engineers (UK) Hong Kong Association;
  • Faculty of Engineering, The University of Hong Kong;
  • Institute of Transport Studies, The University of Hong Kong;
  • Faculty of Engineering, The Chinese University of Hong Kong;
  • School of Engineering, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology;
  • The College of Science and Engineering, City University of Hong Kong;
  • Faculty of Engineering, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University;
  • 18 District Councils;
  • Alexander Dennis (Asia Pacific) Ltd;
  • Regal Motors Ltd;
  • Volvo Bus Hong Kong Ltd;
  • NEC Hong Kong Limited;
  • ZF Services Hong Kong Limited / ZF Friedrichshafen AG and its subsidiary Openmatics s.r.o.;
  • LKW Parts & Services Limited;
  • Department of Justice;
  • Planning Department; and
  • some current and former employees of a franchised bus company.

In addition to the above interested parties, the Committee also approached and received the assistance from the following overseas transport authorities, legislative bodies and bus operators in understanding the franchised / public bus regimes in their respective jurisdictions:

  • Transport for London, United Kingdom;
  • Land Transport Authority, Singapore;
  • Legislative Assembly, Parliament of New South Wales, Australia;
  • Transport for New South Wales, Australia;
  • Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council, Parliament of Victoria, Australia;
  • Public Transport Victoria, Australia;
  • Abellio London;
  • Go Ahead London;
  • RATP London; and
  • Stagecoach London.

The Committee received closing submissions from the counsel assisting the Committee on 29 November 2018, which are available here (English only).

Unless otherwise specified, all submissions will be treated as public information, and, at the discretion of the Committee, may be published on the Committee’s website.

Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 Web Accessibility Recognition Scheme